Synesthesia Theme for SharePoint 2010 Foundation TeamSite

This is an excellent theme provided by TopSharePoint.com which is designed for a Publishing Template only.

I modified the code so it can now be used for a SharePoint Foundation TeamSite or Blank Site with a few missing bits but it looks great.  This has been adjusted to work in IE7, IE8, Firefox and Chrome also.

Download Zip file containing 3 files HERE

Synth_Foundation.master, syn.foundation.css, mainContent.png

Just replace these files with the ones provided from the link above.

* I removed the Quick Launch to provide more space in the Main Content Area.

* The front page Slideshow is missing as I’m still in the process of adjusting it for the page.

Any problems, please let me know and I’ll see if I can fix it.

10 thoughts on “Synesthesia Theme for SharePoint 2010 Foundation TeamSite

  1. Jessica October 25, 2012 / 6:36 am

    I know to add the master page file to the “Master Pages” folder, but where do I upload the other two files (.PNG and CSS document) in SharePoint Designer? I tried to add them to the style library, but that clearly didn’t work.

    • Brett October 25, 2012 / 7:20 am

      Hi Jessica, In the Masterpage, I’ve referenced the CSS file as: /synesthesia/css/syn.foundation.css
      If you open the MasterPage about line 37, you’ll see the path the CSS file is using, which you can change to Style Library if you wish.
      And the images file are located: /synesthesia/images/
      If you open the .CSS file you can see the file paths to where each image file is referenced also.
      Don’t forget to download the original files from Topsharepoint.com to get the rest of the image files.

      Brett

      • Jessica November 2, 2012 / 12:00 am

        Thanks for the help, Brett. I changed the path and got it working!

  2. Kipp Sorensen June 16, 2012 / 3:32 am

    When accessing system pages…”Granting permissions” the main content area of the page disappears. Is this something I did? If the Ribbon stays on “Browse” everything is fine but once I like the “edit” or another ribbon link I lose the main content area.

    Appreciate your help.

    • Brett Anderson June 16, 2012 / 9:00 am

      Hi Kipp,
      Thanks for trying out my hacked up theme.
      If you’re having problems with parts disappearing, try using the RioLinx Themes for SP Foundation. http://www.riolinx.com/en/blog/Lists/Posts/Post.aspx?ID=25
      They have gone through each free Publishing theme available on the web and converted them to SP Foundation. They even provide a handy WSP file with their source-code. Perhaps grab their Synesthesia Master-Page and CSS file and see if you get the same error?
      I hacked up my theme to get it working on my site before they posted this feature on topsharepoint.com.

  3. Mick Farrell April 16, 2012 / 10:54 pm

    Hi. I am wanting to test this theme with Foundation and when following the instructions from http://www.topsharepoint.com, I don’t see all the same buttons, such as under Look and Feel, I don’t have a Master page button, or have “page layouts and site templates” under Site Settings. Just wondering if you have a guide on how to install your edited version for Foundation? Thanks

    • Brett Anderson April 17, 2012 / 8:57 pm

      Hi Mick,
      The instructions on topsharepoint.com is for a Publishing template with the Publishing feature activated, which is for SharePoint 2010 Server, not for SharePoint Foundation.
      The files above worked for my Foundation environment, so they should work for you.
      I haven’t had any complaints, so I’m assuming they work. 🙂

      First, you need SharePoint Designer 2010 to apply the master.page file.
      – Right-click on the Synth_Foundation.master and select, “Set as Default Master”, right-click the same file again and select “Set as Custom Master”.

      As long as you’ve got the syn.foundation.css file in the correct path as shown in the Synth_Foundation.master, which is /synesthesia/css/ that should be all that’s needed.

      Ask if anything is unclear.

      Regards,
      Brett

      • Warren Malmberg February 24, 2015 / 5:42 am

        Hi Brett,
        I know this is a pretty old article but i am hoping you can help me out. You say to set the synth_foundation.master to default master and also custom master. The problem is I Cannot see where to do this in SD 2010. There is no master pages tab. I have looked everywhere to try to see how to enable this tab but I cannot see it anywhere. Any advice?

  4. Philip March 4, 2012 / 1:34 am

    in Synth_Foundation.master, there is a reference to http://www.iarmy.com.au in the CSS section… The file is not accessible since this website is password protected. Has to be modified to point on the SP server

    • Brett Anderson March 4, 2012 / 10:11 am

      Thanks for that Philip, I exported the .master file from SP Designer which also brought all the site information I’m using with it. Didn’t realize it does that.

      This time I’ve copied all the code and pasted it into a text file and renamed it synth_foundation.master. Zip file has been updated.

      I’ve tested this file by downloading it, then copying the .master file to SP Designer, then selecting Set as Default Master and it works perfect.

      Try downloading the zip file now and see if that works.

      Brett

Post a Comment

